These are my skies

Today was as busy at work as I expected it to be, but I ticked off everything on my list (once or twice by setting myself a reminder to do the actual job when I get back, but still: ticked off). After I’d run through my itinerary for the fourth time I sent out an email directing colleagues to this blog. I didn’t include the Top Boss, but she made the mistake of asking me, while I was doing my very last task of all (washing my teacup), where I was going on holiday. There isn’t a quick answer to that question; or if there is, I haven’t found it yet.

I left at 4.20 to a chorus of Bon Voyage, and as I was driving home I found myself unusally aware of my surroundings: the leaves dancing in the gutters, the different houses in the villages, ploughed fields, hawthorn hedges. This is my little world. I have lived in Northamptonshire for over 20 years now and although to most people it is just somewhere to drive through on the way to a more interesting destination, to me it is very special. These are my skies: leaden, dripping, pierced by trees and supported by gentle green hills. There is nothing spectacular about my home, but I am glad I will be coming back to it.

I did a little re-packing this evening. Colleagues had tried hard to convince me that it will be perfectly possible to buy edible snacks while I’m away. So I’ve decided not to take the box of toffee chip Cheweee bars. But I’m still taking the chocolate, the mixed nuts and raisins, the 500g of prunes, the other cereal bars, the herbal teabags, the parmesan nibbles, the sweets, the pack of chocolate digestives, the cheddars, the fruit juice cartons, and the bag of refrigerated goodies. I’ve also added an apple and a satsuma, and a bottle of water. It’s all about balance.

Irritatingly, my four-weekly pack of contact lenses arrived yesterday. I have been wearing glasses for the past fortnight because I wasn’t certain of having fresh supplies of contact lenses before I left. Now I am awash with the things and, even more annoyingly, I can’t remember if I have already packed some. I really can’t face unpacking my backpack to find out (because if I have, they will be jammed into a corner at the bottom) so I am now possibly carrying excess baggage to the tune of a pair of weekly contact lenses. The multipacks of mars bars and bounty bars are not excess baggage – if I don’t eat them (and I have sudden premonition I will be consuming a lot of chocolate on the way home) I can barter with them or something. There’s probably an official exchange rate.

Anyway. I am packed. I have cleaned the kitchen (after a fashion). I have briefed Kit (who was this morning surprised to discover I would be at home tonight) about dinner money and laundry. I have picked the sweet peas. All I need to do is a bit of sewing (yes, I know) and have a bath. Tomorrow has been on the calendar for months. And it’s nearly here.

About Mrs L

Wife, mother of three, civil servant, writer, school governor, charity trustee, girlguiding mentor, allotment gardener, revolutionary monarchist. Usually tired. Lives in Northamptonshire, and in 2012 travelled outside the UK for the first time since 1986.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

